Pilot Rock (climb #2)

Date: 9/12/15

Hike Difficulty: moderate to difficult

Trail Length: 3.6 miles RT

Elevation Gain: 1036 ft

My Rating (out of 5): 5 – For about a week and a half, all I could think about was how much I wanted to go back to the Pilot Rock trail and actually summit the rock this time. I came a bit better prepared this time, with a roommate and no dog. I thought it would be cold again like last time, but I was wrong and the jeans I wore were overkill. Regardless, it was an exhilarating climb in which I really learned to trust myself. I quickly learned the importance of three-point contact and smart route planning. The payoff at the top was 100% worth the anxiety that the climb put me through. The only negative was that there were swarms of flies all over us, even at the summit. Some of the mofos even photobombed a few of my pictures…  The smoke was kind of a downer, also, but I’m used to it by now. I will definitely climb Pilot Rock again, especially after the smoke clears.

Leave a Reply

