Siskiyou Crest

Date: 9/23/15

Hike Difficulty: moderately unforgiving (hah, does that make sense?)

Trail Hike Length: 5 mi RT more or less

Elevation Gain: A lot

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – I originally set out to go to Wagner Butte trail, but it wasn’t marked very well, or I took a wrong turn when phone service went out. Regardless, I ended up finding this National Forest road that lead up to the Siskiyou Crest nearby and I was absolutely fine with exploring this not-so-official trail. I didn’t even know really where I had hiked until I got home and looked it up on a map. I also didn’t know that I was walking right above the Pacific Crest Trail the entire hike, or I would’ve taken it instead.

So, the only thing that really hurt my rating of this hike was the fact that we were walking up this ugly road the entire time. I am one of those that prefers to be rubbing elbows with tree boughs and all of that (not poison oak, though), so a bumpy road with all kinds of tire tracks isn’t too aesthetically appealing.

Still, this hike provided some pretty amazing views. Mount Shasta was looking her best off in the distance and the mountain crest itself was filled with wildlife at dusk. I had a little hawk stalker (a hawker?) for a while. I think it wanted to eat my dog. Then, I walked way too far out for the limited daylight I had left, so I had a bit of a scary dark walk through the forest on the way back. Anyway, here are the pictures:

Leave a Reply

