Mt. Scott and Pinnacles (Crater Lake National Park)

Date: 10/11/15

Hike Difficulty: moderate

Hike Length: 4.2 mi RT

Elevation Gain: 1381 ft. – over freaking Crater Lake

My Rating (out of 5): 5.0 – This was my first time going to Crater Lake and I knew that I had to climb Mt. Scott. I was drawn in by the “highest point in the park” and “best view of Crater Lake” comments I saw online.

To get to Mt. Scott, you have to go to Crater Lake when there is no snow — the East Rim road must be open, so check online. From the Annie Spring entrance, drive 4 miles north then follow East Rim road for about 14 miles. The trailhead is marked on the right and the mountain is staring you in the face from the get-go.

I enjoyed this hike thoroughly. It was not too strenuous, but it made me work hard for the beautiful views of the lake. After Mt. Scott and recovering, I headed to see the Pinnacles. It’s an easy .5 mi trail that follows a valley with lava vents. Too bad the sun was setting…it was too dark!

Leave a Reply

