Hobart Bluff, Soda Mountain, and PCT (Soda Mountain Wilderness)

Date: 11/1/15

Hike Difficulty: moderate

Trail Length: 3 mi RT (Hobart Bluff) 4.5 mi RT (Soda Mountain)

Elevation Gain: 500 ft (Hobart Bluff) 810 ft (Soda Mountain)

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – I’ve been to both Hobart Bluff and Soda Mountain already, but I wanted to come back to explore the area via the Pacific Crest Trail. I started by parking at the Hobart Bluff trailhead and hiking up to it first. Then, I backtracked to the parking lot and took the PCT in the other direction. I found a connection to the Soda Mountain trail — you have to take a sharp left on the unmarked path– so I climbed it, too.

Ultimately, my goal was to find a path to Little Pilot Rock, but I didn’t go out far enough to find it. I guess it gives me a reason to come back again 🙂

Leave a Reply

