Abbott Butte (Rogue-Umpqua Divide Wilderness)

Date: 11/22/15

Hike Difficulty: moderate

Trail Length: 6.4 mi RT

Elevation Gain: 1500 ft

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – When I arrived at Huckleberry Gap last weekend ready to climb Abbott Butte, the snow didn’t want me to stay. My car got stuck in the quickly-accumulating snow and I had to abandon my plans. Now, if any of you know me, it should come as no surprise that I could not stop thinking about climbing the mountain that the weather forbade me to climb.

This time around was completely different. I came prepared for cold and snow, and what I got was melting snow and 45-50 degree weather. Because of the way the sun hit the forest, it was colder at the beginning of my hike than at the summit! I found myself quickly stripping off layers as I climbed toward the lookout tower.

All in all, I had a great time and got to experience some new views. I am a bit bummed because I was literally right down the road from the world’s largest sugar pine and I didn’t go. Some other time, I suppose…:)

Leave a Reply

