Collings Mountain (Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest)

Date: 12/13/15

Hike Difficulty: moderate

Trail Length: about 6.0 miles RT to summit (we made it probably 2 miles and turned back)

Elevation Gain: 1600 ft (we climbed about 1000)

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – Since winter is definitely letting us know that it is coming, most of the hikes I want to do are snowed out anymore. I bought a new hiking book that shows which hikes are good “all year round” trails and I opened the page to Collings Mountain.

I’d seen this one before in other books and on websites, but I was always put off by the presence of rattlesnakes in the area. Since it’s so cold out, though, I have a perfect window of opportunity to check it out and not risk a snake bite. The thing that this trail is famous for is the inactive Bigfoot trap that was constructed in 1973, so obviously I had always wanted to try this trail.

Though I didn’t quite make it to the summit of Collings Mountain, I got some great views of frosty trees and mountain creeks. The Applegate area has a few more trails I want to try, so maybe after Xmas…

Leave a Reply

