Mule Mountain Part 2

As of January 2017, the trailhead to Mule Mountain is closed. It passes through private property and the new owners did not want to cooperate with USFS.

Date: 1/16/16

Hike Difficulty: moderate

Trail Length: 6.0 mi RT

Elevation Gain: 1500 ft

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – Since I wasn’t able to explore Mule Mountain Trail to its fullest extent last time, I decided to come back for round two. It’s been raining pretty much all week long and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get a hike in this weekend.

Looking at the weather forecast, I determined that I had a small window when it wouldn’t be raining. It was a little rainy on the drive, but as soon as a parked my car, it stopped. The sun wasn’t out and this layer of fog was between me and the top end of the trail. I climbed until my muscles couldn’t climb anymore and reached the ridge that leads to Baldy Peak.

Right around the time I decided to turn around, the sun came out. It gradually cleared away the fog as I ran down the mountain. Beautiful hike

Leave a Reply

