Castle Crags – Indian Spring and Castle Dome

Date: 2/13/16

Hike Difficulty: difficult

Trail Length: 5.8 miles RT after the .4 RT to Indian Springs

Elevation Gain: 2120 ft

My Rating (out of 5): 5.0 – I’ve been wanting to go to Castle Crags in northern California for a while now. I convinced my roommates to come with me since it was everyone’s day off and the weather was nice. This trail kicked my butt! I haven’t been as active as I was this summer, so this was a challenge. The part I struggled most with was the last mile, since it was mostly over rocks and snow. In the end, I made it to the Castle Dome and back down in just about 4 hours.

Even though it was difficult, this was one of the most beautiful hikes I’ve been on. I will have to come back when orchids are in bloom. On to the pictures!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Castle Crags – Indian Spring and Castle Dome

  1. Pingback: Castle Crags | oregonnater

Leave a Reply

