Enchanted Forest Trail

Date: 2/15/16

Hike Difficulty: difficult

Trail Length: 4 mi RT more or less

Elevation Gain: ????  I felt like there was a lot of climb, but online it says 500 ft gain. Lies. It was constant climb.

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – This was a nice spur-of-the-moment hike on my day off. I had frequently passed this trail up when going through my hike book, mainly because the entry was very vague and didn’t give me a good idea about what this trail has to offer. It was easy to get to, right outside of Applegate off of N Applegate Rd. There are wineries all around in the area.

Early on in the hike, I went by the Felton Memorial Trail, which is a 1.5 mile path that leads to the memorial at the site of a helicopter crash. I didn’t take this trail, though, and kept following the creek. Right when I had just about had enough of following the creek and walking through poison oak, the trail turned to the left and started to climb the hill sharply. After reaching the top, I got lost and didn’t know where to go, but I figured it out eventually.

In all, the trail goes for about 2 miles and stops at the top of a ridge where several BLM and private roads meet. There were some pretty views, especially of the valley below. Check it out

One thought on “Enchanted Forest Trail

  1. Pingback: Enchanted Forest Hike (Applegate, Oregon) 26-Dec-2016 | Boots on the Trail

Leave a Reply

