Soda Springs Trail

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 8.17.07 p.m.

Date: 3/23/16

Hike Difficulty: easy

Time: 45:33

Length: 1.68 mi roundtrip

Elevation Gain: 194 ft

Highest Point: 2736 ft

Tick Count: Me-0   Grace-0

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – This was my second attempt to get to Soda Springs. The first time I went the route that my book suggested, which did not take into account that the road I’d be taking would not be plowed in the winter. Lesson learned: do not take the Dead Indian Memorial Highway to Conde Rd. route in the winter.

So, I found another set of directions from the USFS website that got me there from a different angle. It was a little tricky to find, especially since it wasn’t very well marked. The trail runs right beside a Methodist resort camp, which gave off a weird vibe, but lets you know you’re almost there. Right after crossing the bridge leading to the camp, turn to the right and there will be parking, plus a vague trailhead.

I found it pretty difficult to navigate this trail, but luckily I just bought a GPS watch and got to put it to good use. Things weren’t marked very well and I dead-ended at a stream that was too forceful to cross. At least I got to try out my new gadget. And I saw some really cool (possibly poisonous) mineral springs.

Leave a Reply

