Viewpoint Mike

Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 8.15.45 p.m..png

Date: 3/23/16

Hike Difficulty: medium

Time: 1 hr 30 mins

Length: 4.88 mi roundtrip

Elevation Gain: 1125 ft

Highest Point: 2562 ft

Tick Count: Me-2   Grace-0

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – I was surprised by this hike! I’d been putting it off for a while because the whole runs-along-the-highway thing didn’t sound very appealing. However, this trail offered a lot of beauty and didn’t require a drive into the boonies.

To get to this trail, go N on Hwy 62 from Medford. When approaching Lost Creek Lake, pay attention to when you cross the Rogue River on a bridge. Turn right directly after the bridge on Crowfoot Rd. Follow the road until you see parking on the right that is labeled “Day Use Only”. The trailhead for Viewpoint Mike is across from the parking lot.

I think my favorite part of this hike was the wildflowers. I got my first taste of Southern Oregon spring today and I can’t wait to see other rare indigenous flowers. My least favorite part was pretty obvious — the road noise. This trail never really strays far from the road, so you don’t ever get a sense of being alone in nature. Still, this was a nice workout and it had a good payoff for the view.

Leave a Reply

