Grizzly Peak: Extreme Version

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.26.18 p.m.

Grizzly Peak is just off of Dead Indian Memorial Hwy and overlooks the Rogue Valley

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.27.04 p.m.

The green part was the extra that I had to walk. The southern point has the best views, but the true summit is off that little stick in the middle

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.28.23 p.m.

After climbing to the top, there wasn’t much elevation gain.

Date: 4/8/16
Hike Difficulty: moderate
Hike Length: 5.98 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 1096 ft
Highest Point: 5915 ft
Time: 2 hr 23 mins
Tick Count: Me-0   Grace-0  Hooray!

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – Ever since I’ve been hiking in Oregon, I’ve loved Grizzly Peak. It’s close to home and gives me a bit of a challenge without killing me. Since spring is definitely here now, I was hoping that the snow had melted enough for me to hike this beautiful mountain. I missed it terribly.

Turns out there was still a bit of snow about .5 mi from the trailhead, which didn’t stop me or four other cars from parking and walking the extra bit. So began Grizzly Peak: Extreme Version. Soon after, I ran into a few people and their dog. I asked if it was pretty snowy on the way up, to which the girl replied that it wasn’t. I don’t know what kind of snowy hikes she does, but there was enough snow left on Grizzly to make it extra challenging. It also caused a lot of mud, which caused a lot of trees to fall down on the trail.

Despite all these extra obstacles, I showed that mountain that I didn’t need to wait for snow to melt completely. Sure, it was a muddy mess, but the payoff was absolutely worth it. Summit hikes are starting to thaw out!!

Leave a Reply

