Rogue River – Inspiration Point

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 9.30.03 p.m.

Date: 4/16/16
Hike Difficulty: easy
Hike Length: 1.61 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 69 ft
Time: 31 mins
Tick Count: Me-2   Grace-2

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – I don’t go to many river hikes just because I’m more of a summit hike kinda guy. However, this one impressed me! I was already in the area, having driven over 2 hours out of my home territory to climb Mt. Bolivar. I saw that Marial, an entry point to a really pretty segment of the Rogue River Trail, was about 16 miles away, so I figured I would check it out.

First, the road past Marial on the way to the trailhead is NOT for cars with low clearance. If you really want to be safe, park at the Rogue River Ranch or right after the bridge and walk in. Somehow I’m a badass with my little car and I made it through the rough road without busting something in my undercarriage (it was close, though). I really need to upgrade to a 4wd car with some clearance…

This was a gorgeous little hike with tons of wildflowers. On top of that, I got to see three cool features on the Rogue. One is the called the Coffeepot, which is a narrow canyon that rafters often get stuck on. Another was Stair Creek Falls, which you can see from a flower-covered ledge called Inspiration Point. This whole sidetrip to the Rogue was just a random decision, but it was one that definitely left me inspired .

Leave a Reply

