Kerby Peak

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 9.30.28 p.m.

To get to Kerby Peak, don’t try to come from the east. It’s best to come from Selma on Deer Creek Rd.

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 9.31.27 p.m.

Date: 4/30/16
Hike Difficulty: difficult
Hike Length: 6.36 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 2753 ft – no, that’s not a typo
Time: 2 hrs 55 mins
Tick Count: Me-0   Grace-0

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – This was a doozy of a day. I originally set out to go to Kerby Peak and I figured I’d take a scenic route through the Applegate to get there. Sadly, one mile from the turnoff, I basically had to ford a creek in my car, which I didn’t want to do. I turned around and went to a diner to get a burger and make a new plan.

I went to I-5 with two plans in mind: Kerby Peak, done the right way from the west, or Mt. Elijah, which is further south near Oregon Caves. I’d never been in the caves area, so I went for Mt. Elijah. Once more, a mile from the trailhead, I had to turn around because there was a huge tree down.

I probably ended up driving around for at least 5 hours today, but I made the most of it by finally going to my original destination. Kerby kicked my butt. I knew it was going to have ridiculous elevation gain, but it surprised me still. I had to talk myself into continuing the hike many times because my legs couldn’t take much more. Of course, my ego would never let me actually turn around, so I made it to the summit in about 2 hrs. Even after the stupid detours I had to take, it was a good day for a hike.

Leave a Reply

