Dead Indian Soda Springs

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 6.30.33 p.m.

Somehow, my watch gave out on the last 10 mins or so. What’s up with that?

Date: 5/8/16
Hike Difficulty: difficult (in part because the trail was so faint!)
Hike Length: 4.1+ mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 1214 ft
Time: 2 hrs 25 mins
Tick Count: Me-2   Grace-0

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 -Before I get to my hike, I just wanted to say “Happy Mother’s Day” to my mom. She’s an amazing person who has given and sacrificed so much to make her children happy. It’s difficult that I’m halfway across the country and days like this are always more difficult. I miss you and love you. 🙂

Back to my hike: this was my second time attempting this one since I wasn’t ready for ford the creek last time. I brought my Keens this time and it went a lot more smoothly on that front. It’s a pretty calm walk without much climb at the beginning.

After crossing the creek, I found that it doubled back toward the church camp. A 2.5 mi trail connects with the river one and the climb starts to get serious. I went up about 1000 ft in the next mile. The trail was obviously neglected and I got the vibe that it was the people from the Methodist camp. There were signs present last time to help guide me that were torn down this time.

In any case, the more I climbed, the fainter the trail became. This was especially true after downed trees. Past a certain point, I was no longer purposely following a trail. It was just too faint, so I had to do a lot of guessing. Every now and then, I’d have signs that the trail still existed. The best way to see I was still on track was when there were downed trees that had been obviously cut with a chainsaw years ago. Usually, when a tree falls and someone clears it, they just cut out the part that lies on the trail, leaving half to the left and half to the right. These halves gave me a good idea of where the path used to be.

When I got to the point that I couldn’t even find signs of human activity, and the bear scat had started to look fresher and fresher, I knew I had to turn back. Though I didn’t get the amazing views of Mt. Mcloughlin that my book promised, this was definitely a fun, challenging hike.

 

Leave a Reply

