Eight Dollar Mountain / Jeffery Pine Loop

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 5.47.52 p.m.

It’s a twofer! This one was an easy boardwalk hike.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 5.55.20 p.m.

Jeffery Pine Loop was right across from the Eight Dollar Mountain boardwalk. I love it when you don’t even know a trail exists and you stumble upon two.

Date: 5/7/16
Hike Difficulty: easy / easy
Hike Length: 0.42 mi / 2.85 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 62 ft / 256 ft
Time: 12 mins / 57 mins
Tick Count: Me-0   Grace-0

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – I had another one of those days when I try to go to several trails and they all seem to have some sort of blockage. My first (ambitious) plan was to go to Devil’s Punchbowl since it’s finally thawing out. I was about 5 miles from the trailhead when a guy stops me to tell me that there’s an abandoned truck ahead of some guy he knows. Considering it was a one-lane road and there were about to be 4+ cars with the cop and all, I decided to turn around. Then, I attempted Mt. Elijah again but the tree was still there — I need to buy a chainsaw.

Nevertheless, I finally settled for a very short walk and found a surprise second hike! The Eight Dollar Mountain interpretive boardwalk trail is less than a half mile. The signs explain that the area has a unique ecology because of the nutrient-poor serpentine soil. As a result, plants such as the California Pitcher plant thrive in alkaline fens. Yes, I saw some freaking carnivorous plants.

After, I made my way back to the trailhead and began round two. Jeffery Pine Loop is connected to the Little Falls trail, of which I walked a large part. Somehow, I turned myself around right before the waterfalls, so I guess I have something to come back to check out another day.

Leave a Reply

