Boccard Point

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 7.04.57 a.m.

The top part was PCT. The bottom part is the Boccard Point trail.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 7.06.02 a.m.

Date: 5/13/16
Hike Difficulty: moderate
Hike Length: 5.62 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 1040 ft
Time: 1 hr 52 mins
Tick Count: Me-0   Grace-0  Yay!

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – I’ve seen the name Boccard Point on maps before, but I never had any luck finding a legit trail for it. Today, I winged it and started driving down a road that I thought would connect to the PCT. After all, I had just hiked the PCT to that road, so I knew it existed. So, instead of taking Soda Mountain road to get to the PCT, I took Tyler Creek road to Baldy Creek road. Baldy is pretty rough, so drive slow. I was scared that I would pop a tire on the sharp rocks coming out of the road, so I averaged probably 10 mph the whole time.

Eventually, Baldy Creek road comes to an intersection with the PCT where there’s a little space to park. I don’t know if you’re supposed to park there, but I did. From that intersection, you can go either direction on the PCT, which is pretty clearly marked. I wanted to backtrack a bit of what I’d done the day before to see if I could find Little Pilot Rock (still no luck).

You can also find the trailhead for Boccard Point here, which has a Soda Mountain Wilderness sign and a bunch of boulders marking the way. This trail was a great surprise, especially the end. I don’t know if I’ll come back to it anytime soon, just because of the rough road, but this hike was definitely worth the trip.

Leave a Reply

