Buckeye and Cliff Lakes

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 10.36.51 p.m.

We hiked up to Buckeye and Cliff Lakes, but there was also a little unnamed lake. Fish Lake is the big one on the right that we didn’t visit.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 10.37.46 p.m.

Date: 5/14/16
Hike Difficulty: moderate
Hike Length: 4.50 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 879 ft
Time: 2 hrs 7 mins
Tick Count: Me-0  Grace-0  Roommate-1

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – Another roommate outing, this time in the rain! One of my roommates goes to Buckeye Lake pretty frequently for backpacking trips, so it was about time for me to see this place. I knew going into today that it was going to be a rainy mess, so I tried to get as much rain gear on as I could when I threw together my stuff this morning. Still, it was a wet trip.

Buckeye and Cliff Lakes are near Grasshopper Mountain, half of which collapsed into a landslide around 1000 years ago and created the terrain for much of this hike. Then, in July 2013, the Whiskey Complex fires rolled through the area, leaving many trees half-charred. All of this made for very beautiful views when the clouds weren’t covering everything. On our way back, we stopped at South Umpqua Falls. Here, the river runs over a huge slab of bedrock and has little waterfalls in places.

I will definitely have to come back to summit Grasshopper and nearby mountains on a sunnier day. Maybe I’ll make a backpacking trip out of it.

Leave a Reply

