PCT – Soda Mountain Rd to Little Pilot Rock

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 7.04.09 a.m.

Date: 5/12/16
Hike Difficulty: moderate
Hike Length: 5.11 mi roundtrip
Elevation Gain: 617 ft
Time: 1 hr 57 mins
Tick Count: Me-0   Grace-1

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – I felt like doing a bit of exploring on the PCT, so I went to a familiar point of entry to start my exploration. I wanted to either find Little Pilot Rock or the turnoff to Soda Mountain. I’d found the Soda Mountain trail before, but for some reason, it wasn’t as easy to find this time. I think it was because there were so many downed trees that I just didn’t see the trail.

In any case, I just kept going until I reached an intersection between the PCT and Baldy Creek road. I never found Little Pilot Rock 😦

I figured I’d done enough exploring for one day and decided to backtrack to my car. All in all, this was a very pretty segment of the PCT and it made want to come back the next day (which I did!)

Leave a Reply

