Devil’s Punchbowl

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 9.55.27 p.m.

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 9.38.25 p.m.

You go down before you go sharply up. Then you go up on your way back, too. Evil.

Date: 5/28/16
Hike Difficulty: strenuous
Hike Length: 10.10 mi roundtrip (4.83 mi to get to the Punchbowl, .15 mi extra to get to Buck Lake)
Elevation Gain: 2290 ft
Time: 4 hr 38 mins
Random strangers that saw my junk by accident: 2

My Rating (out of 5): 5.0 – The last time I attempted to get to Doe Flat trailhead to hike to Devil’s Punchbowl, there was some weird thing where someone had dumped a stolen car on the road leading to the trail. So, I was a little anxious as I drove closer to the trailhead, thinking there would be a tree fallen or something similar. Luckily, the road was clear and I got to experience one of my favorite hikes again.

First, I am really happy that I get to see what my data looks like for this hike. I knew that there were a lot of ups and downs, but the chart shows its ridiculousness. Then, around 3.5 miles in when I finally got to the turnoff for the punchbowl, I had to climb 600 ft in half a mile. The really awesome part was that, unlike last time, the sky was perfectly clear and I could see many mountains in the area once I reached the ridge.

I definitely feel like I’m in better shape than the last time I came here. Perhaps it’s the fact that it was warmer and I had more energy. I’m just glad I didn’t have to make any deals with the devil to make it to my destination this time (I was a bit delirious by the time I reached my car last time)

Leave a Reply

