Wagner Butte

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 3.33.15 p.m.

Such a nice hike so close to home!

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 3.34.12 p.m.

A closer view at the trail (note: don’t listen to Google Maps when it tells you the road is the trail — it’s glitchy)

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 3.37.08 p.m.

Date: 6/5/16
Hike Difficulty: strenuous
Hike Length: 9.90 mi
Elevation Gain: 2375 ft
Highest Point: 7146 ft
Time: 3 hrs 54 mins

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – I’m probably crazy, but I barely recovered from backpacking and I took on a nearly 10-mile monster. The truth is that I slept probably 10 hours, woke up at 2 AM with nothing to do and got the idea to leave for Wagner Butte after the sun came up. It had been a while since I’d climbed it and I had yet to track one of my hikes on it.

Regardless of how crazy the idea was, it was pretty brilliant considering how hot the day was going to get. I got back to my house before the worst of the heat of day struck, so all was good. Actually, not all was good. I had a little passenger tag along from Babyfoot Lake the night before; a mouse climbed through my car’s ventilation system and made its way into the interior while I was camping. It proceeded to defecate all over my dashboard the next day to let me know of its presence. I found it under my backseat after my hike today and it hopped back into my vents 😦 😦 😦 Maybe the 100 degree heat forced it to find its way out (without chewing or pooping anymore!!??) One can hope.

Leave a Reply

