Jackson Gap and PCT

screenshot

Kettle Lake is in the lower-left corner, not the upper-right.

 

screenshot2

Date: 6/27/16
Hike Difficulty: fairly easy
Hike Length: 6.88 mi
Elevation Gain: 850 ft
Time: 2 hrs 34 mins

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – So, this was another one of those hikes where I did more exploring a new area than I did actually making it to my destination. A co-worker and I planned to drive up Beaver Creek Rd (Ashland Loop Rd) up to the Pacific Crest Trail, from which we would be able to find Kettle Lake. My car couldn’t quite make it to the PCT intersection, so we had to walk an extra mile. Then it turns out we went the wrong direction on the PCT, which obviously kept us from finding the lake.

Even though we didn’t reach our destination, there were still come amazing views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. I plan to return to this area soon to explore some more. Next time, I’ll go in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

