Mount Eddy and Deadfall Lakes

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-6-10-12-pm

Mount Eddy is the highest mountain in the Trinities

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-6-28-07-pm

A little more zoomed in so you can see those killer switchbacks at the end

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-6-10-30-pm

Date: 10/01/16
Hike Difficulty: difficult
Hike Length: 11.53 mi RT
Elevation Gain: 2297 ft
Highest Point: 9032 ft
Time: 4 hrs 23 mins

My Rating (out of 5): 4.5 – I was inspired by my last trip down to northern California, so I decided to do it again this weekend. This hike had all my favorite things — moss galore, mountain lakes, and a great summit view. When I pulled into the Parks Creek Trailhead parking lot, I counted cars well into the double digits, so I knew it was a popular trail. There was not as much horse poop as last time and luckily there was no cow poop at all.

Lower Deadfall Lake was probably the tiniest and not worth the climb back out, really. I could see how much bigger it had been at its fullest. Middle Deadfall was very sparkly and inviting, but I didn’t go for a swim. The climb really started after the middle lake. The Mount Eddy trail lead to, you guessed it, the Upper Deadfall Lake, which was pretty because it reflected Mount Eddy. After that lake, the trail turned up a pass and up onto the ridge, where the climb got even more intense.

The weather kept getting cloudy, then sunny, then cloudy, so I didn’t know if I would be able to make it to the summit. It got colder and winder as I went up the switchbacks. Finally, six miles in, I made it to the summit. The view of Mount Shasta was pretty cloudy, bur I waited around long enough for the clouds to part and show it peeking through. There were so many other mountains I didn’t know the name for. It isn’t usually my territory, so I need to keep coming back to explore more.

 

Leave a Reply

