Cowhorn Mountain (Attempt #2)

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-7-19-28-pm

Date: 11/11/16
Hike Difficulty: challenging
Hike Length: 7.64 mi RT
Elevation Gain: 1503 ft
Highest Point: 7201 ft
Time: 3 hrs 15 min

My Rating (out of 5): 4.0 – I wanted to try out Cowhorn Mountain again, but I was worried that there would be too much snow for me to even get there in my car. Luckily, the roads had less snow that two weeks ago, so I knew the trails would be better and I’d be able to get farther up the trail than the last time I came here.

I took my snowshoes anyway, just in case. However, I’ve had the terrible luck recently of forgetting my bendy ties to attach snowshoes to my pack, so I end up stashing them somewhere a mile or two in, only to need them a mile later when the snow is several feet high. The same thing happened this time, but I just kept trudging through the snow anyway. I had some trekking poles, which helped greatly, and I made it to a good viewpoint about a mile from the summit. The snow was just too deep to continue. Beautiful day, though.

Leave a Reply

