Elk City Lake

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-4-28-26-pm

Date: 12/28/16

Hike Difficulty: moderate due to uneven terrain
Hike Length: 1.67 mi + 9.75 mi
Elevation Gain: 344 ft + 1493 ft
Time: 43 mins + 3 hrs 30 mins

“If you look up, you’re going down.” That’s what I learned about this choppy trail.

I am in Kansas for the holidays and I needed to get my hiking fix, so my sister drove me and her kids out to Elk City Lake. We did a few sections of the trails there — part of Table Mound trail and part of the Elk River trail. The rock formations, mostly made of limestone, were the highlight of the day. It was no Oregon, but Kansas surprised me with these trails.

Leave a Reply

