Jacksonville Woodlands

screen-shot-2017-01-05-at-8-45-59-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-05-at-8-47-20-pm

Date: 1/5/17

Hike Difficulty: moderate with the snow
Hike Length: 3.44 mi
Elevation Gain: 666 ft
Time: 1 hr 35 mins

There was an unusual amount of snowfall across the region recently, so I wanted to take advantage to do a bit of snowshoeing down near Applegate Lake with the dogs. Unfortunately, the snow was too deep for the dogs and I couldn’t find the trail. Well…you can see the results in this video:

So, I ended up stopping in at the Jacksonville Woodlands trail system. My beastly vehicle was able to make it up a snowy, icy hill to the parking lot. I ended up spending most of my hike on Rich Gulch (to get to Panorama Point) and Petard Loop, which was pretty challenging in the snow. Luckily, a few other brave souls had left footprints for me to follow, or I’d have been lost.

I contemplated taking Liz’s Trail, also, but it was enough of a workout just going out to Petard Loop and back. Check out these beautiful pictures of the winter wonderland I was in.

Leave a Reply

