Seiad Valley to Devil’s Peaks

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-5-29-38-pm

Date: 2/4/17

Hike Difficulty: challenging
Hike Length: 3.93 mi
Elevation Gain: 1270 ft
Time: 2 hrs 05 mins

The last time that I tried to get to Devil’s Peaks from Seiad Valley, California was almost a year ago. I knew that I was giving myself a pretty big challenge by trying to climb them again, especially since it has been a snowier winter than last one. Still, the dogs and I were getting a little stir-crazy and needed to get out, so I decided that this challenging hike would have to do.

I anticipated a little bit of snow, but not enough to warrant snowshoes. Plus, I didn’t want to be lugging around heavy boots for 10 miles if I didn’t need them. Turns out I kind of needed them. Most of the trail is south-facing. However, the snowdrifts got bigger and bigger as I climbed. There were also a TON of fallen trees, which I tried to throw off the trail whenever I could.

In the end, I didn’t even make it to the Lower Devil’s Peak, which is pretty much the exact same thing that happened when I attempted it last year. Maybe when the snow melts and the PCT gets some maintenance it will be a bit easier to make it through this challenging climb.

Leave a Reply

