Smith Rock State Park

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.23.43 PM

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.24.36 PM

Date: 3/25/17

Hike Difficulty: challenging
Hike Length: 2.86 mi
Elevation Gain: 997 ft
Time: 2 hrs 24 mins

A friend and I were in Bend for the weekend and, given that it’s winter, the list of available hikes was limited. Most everything that I read about Smith Rock State Park sounded promising, so I pushed really hard for this to be the hike that we visited. This park is a web of trails that are all interconnected in several loops, so you can kind of choose your own adventure. There were bikers, hikers, rockclimbers — all of that.

From what I’d read, I decided that I wanted to take Misery Ridge and climb 700 feet to the top. Then I was going to connect to Mesa Verde and River Trails, but on our way up we saw someone who was advising not to take my dog on the River Trail. There has been a higher than usual river flow this year and part of the trail washed out, I think. So, we ended up making our hike an out-and-back to Monkey Face. I’ll need to visit the area in the summer to see more of what it has to offer.

One thought on “Smith Rock State Park

  1. This post reminds me of hiking this lovely trail last summer. We did complete the loop via the river trail. The trail down around Monkey Face was too loose of a footing for my comfort but we had poles so it wasn’t too bad. Thanks for sharing this beautiful hike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

