Illinois River Trail Revisited

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 10.22.09 AM

Still didn’t go west enough to get to the meadow…next time

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 10.23.35 AM

That drop down to Pine Flat makes this a very unappealing hike for a dayhike and more appropriate for an overnighter

Date: 3/31/17

Hike Difficulty: challenging
Hike Length: 12.30 mi
Elevation Gain: 2385 ft
Time: 6 hrs 20 mins

I revisited another fun river trail the other day near Selma on the Illinois River Trail. I’d already done this hike a few weeks ago and I didn’t quite get to my final destination of the Pine Flat meadows the first time around (though I was damn close).

The hike was equally, if not more difficult this time because it was a lot warmer and a lot less wet. The exposure on the ridge was pretty intense at times and we had to go several miles without much shade. Dropping down to the river was a welcome change because there were more trees and we could quickly hop into the river to experience the ice-cold mountain snowmelt.

I ended up without making it to the meadows again, though I did explore more in the direction that I wanted to. I’ll have to make this an overnight so that I can take my time and really see everything that Pine Flat has to offer.

Leave a Reply

