Middle Fork Trailhead (Rogue River)

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 10.41.00 PM

Date: 5/27/-5/28/17

Hike Difficulty: moderate (mostly because of my gear and my forgetfulness)
Hike Length: 4.41 mi to backcountry camp, 6.85 mi to get back
Time: 2 hrs 48 mins; 3 hrs 4 mins

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a new hike! I must confess, I’ve been hiking and camping at old sites, but just not posting about it. To make up for it, here’s a video from last weekend’s camping at Taylor Creek:

I was hoping for a similar or even better backpacking experience this weekend. I’d heard that the Siskiyou Mountain Club had just cleaned up a trail that follows the Middle Fork Rogue River. The area was hit by a wildfire back in 2008, which left the trail prone to deadfalls. With the crazy winter that we had, there was a lot of work for the SMC to clean up this trail. I merely showed up a few weeks later to benefit from their work.

This was the first time that I’d gone down this trail, which is the first entry point to Sky Lakes Wilderness this early in the season if one can get past the fallen snags. I was hoping to get 5 or 6 miles in where the trail climbs 800 or so feet and reaches Boston Bluff. I only got about 4.4 miles in before I saw signs of decreased human activity — namely, the dead trees were not cleared off the trail anymore. I decided to take a rest at this spot, as I’m sure the SMC crew did when they were sawing dead trees a few weeks earlier.

Looking down at the river from the ledge above, I could see a piece of land that jutted out near the river. Grace and I climbed 20 feet or so to reach the area we’d make camp for the night. I’ll have to come back to explore more, this trail and other ones nearby like Tom and Jerry Trail.

Leave a Reply

